2016 ANA\C Award Recipients

Presented at the 2016 20th Anniversary Celebration and General Assembly, October 14-15, 2016 in Redondo Beach, California.

ANA\C Public Service Award

Congresswoman Lois Capps

Congresswoman and registered nurse Lois Capps, who represents California’s 24th Congressional District, was honored with ANA\C’s Public Service Award for her lifelong dedication to nursing and public service. Rep. Capps worked as a public health nurse and a school nurse prior to launching her career in politics. She is a longtime advocate for nurses and patients, and has educated fellow lawmakers about the critical skills that registered nurses bring to the table as advocates, consensus builders, and problem solvers. Her most recent accomplishments for the nursing profession include co-authoring the bi-partisan Title VIII Nursing Workforce Reauthorization Act (H.R.2713), and founding the U.S. House of Representatives Nurses Caucus. Rep. Capps has been a champion for improving the health and lives of all Americans, especially related to patient safety and care delivery. In a recent blog for The Huffington Post, titled “Once a Nurse, Always a Nurse,” Rep. Capps discussed some of her many accomplishments memorable moments as an elected national leader.

Florence Nightingale Award

Recognizes the delivery of outstanding direct patient care by a registered nurse.

Captain Rupert B. Laco, MSN, RN, CSMRN

Captain Laco is a clinical nurse in the inpatient unit at David Grant USAF Medical Center at Travis Air Force Base. He is recognized for his professionalism, clinical expertise and positive interpersonal and interprofessional working relationships. In his hospital, Captain Laco serves as point of contact for the Basic Life Support and Patient Root Cause Analysis programs. Additionally, he spearheaded a peer review program on his inpatient unit. His award nominator stated that Captain Laco consistently demonstrates the values of “integrity first, service before self and excellence in all we do.”


Ray Cox Award

Recognizes the lifelong commitment of an RN in the advancement of the nursing profession in California. Ray Cox was an active member of ANA\C, involved in nursing policy, legislation, education and professional development. He dedicated more than 45 years of service to patients and staff...giving much of his life to the Nursing Profession and committed to the care of persons with mental illness. 

Joyce Newman Giger, PhD, RN, FAAN

Dr. Giger, Professor Emeritus from UCLA School of Nursing, has educated and mentored thousands of nursing students and advanced nursing practice to improve the lives of patients around the globe. Dr. Giger developed, tested and implemented the Transcultural Nursing Model, which guided day-to-day patient-centered nursing care and served as theoretical framework for research. In her role as Editor of the Journal of the Black Nurses Association, Dr. Giger has coached many minority nurses. She was nominated by the White House to the National Institute of Nursing Research, an advisory council of the National Institute of Health, and has chaired ANA councils on culture, diversity, genetics, and long term care. Dr. Giger is an admired colleague and dedicated public servant.


Elizabeth “Betty” Curtis Award

Recognizes a registered nurse who is an advocate on behalf of nursing and health care in the legislative, regulatory and/or other public policy arenas. Elizabeth "Betty" Curtis was on the first ANA\C board. She had served as a Government Relations Commissioner from San Bernadino for many years and was an extraordinary Public Health Nurse.  Betty supported the association and was a wonderful nurse who educated, mentored and helped others further their professional careers.   

Elizabeth Dietz, EdD, RN, CS-NP

A Professor Emeritus at San Jose State University, Dr. Dietz serves on ANA\C’s Board as Legislative Director. In this role, she chairs the Legislative Committee, coaches nurses in effective health policy advocacy, and collaborates with ANA\C staff to represent the interests of the nursing profession. She also attends meetings of the Board of Registered Nursing, legislative hearings and political events on behalf of ANA\C. Dr. Dietz serves on ANA’s Political Action Committee and is a former member of the California BRN. Her service to ANA at the national and state levels is legendary. She is also a longtime Red Cross volunteer nurse and has been honored by this organization for her service.


Joanne Powell Award

Recognizes an RN demonstrating outstanding leadership, research, or contributions to the body of knowledge affecting nursing. JoAnne Powell was a leader in the Golden Gate Nurses Association and served as Executive Director. She was a key leader in passing the California Nurse Practice Act. JoAnne staffed the California State Nursing Students Association and often served as Parliamentarian for associations. In the early days of ANA\C, no task was too large or too small for Joanne who worked tirelessly to  get the new organization up and running.

Cecelia L. Crawford, DNP, RN

Dr. Crawford is a Practice Specialist for Evidence-Based Practice and Program Evaluation for the Regional Nursing Research Program at Kaiser Permanente Southern California. Dr. Crawford has been a champion for the nursing profession for more than 35 years, with a passion for nursing education, mentoring and evidence-based practice. Her work focuses on the evaluation and synthesis of evidence for patient care, clinical practice and health care programs. According to her award nominator: “Cecilia’s vision is to translate the evidence so it is meaningful for nurses. She makes the evidence accessible to the people who need it – the nurse and the patient.”


President's Award

Awarded by ANA\C’s President to a Registered Nurse for outstanding contributions to nursing.

Linda Burnes Bolton, DrPH, RN, FAAN

Dr. Bolton is Vice President of Nursing and Chief Nursing Officer at Cedars Sinai Health System and Research Institute. Throughout her career, Dr. Bolton has played a vital leadership role in promoting care excellence, patient safety, and diversity in nursing education and practice. Her research, teaching, and clinical expertise includes: nursing and patient care outcomes, improving organization performance, quality care, and cultural diversity within the health professions. In 2009, she was appointed Vice Chair of the Institute of Medicine Commission on the Future of Nursing, which developed the Future of Nursing Report: Leading Change, Advancing Health. Dr. Bolton has served as president for several national nursing organizations including the American Academy of Nursing and the American Organization of Nurse Executives.